Atlanta City Council to consider significant legislative Items May 16




ATLANTA — The Atlanta City Council will consider legislation during Monday’s meeting on May 16 outlining increased oversight, accountability, resident participation, and a commitment to improved project delivery for the “Moving Atlanta Forward” infrastructure initiative (Legislative Reference No. 22-O-1369).

The full Council meeting will be held in person at 1 p.m. in the Council Chamber at City Hall. All meetings will be conducted in accordance with the City of Atlanta’s Charter, City Code of Ordinances, and the rules of Council as adopted for in-person meetings.

In-person public comment procedures will be held as previously conducted and adopted by the Council in accordance with City Charter Section 2-104 and 2-105.

The meeting will be simulcast on the Council’s websiteYouTube channel,Facebook and Twitter pages, and Channel 26. Closed captioning will be available on the Council’s Facebook page.

The Council will also consider legislation to amend Part I (Charter and Related Laws), Subpart A (Charter), Article 2 (Legislative), Chapter 6 (City Auditor), Section 2-603 (Powers and Duties) of the City of Atlanta Charter to provide for subsequent reviews of the implementation of the audit report recommendations (Legislative Reference No. 22-O-1344). Monday’s vote would be the second of three readings as a charter amendment.

Other items on Monday’s agenda include:

  • A resolution requesting the Fulton County Tax Commissioner to no longer sell City of Atlanta solid waste service fee liens for residents 65 years of age and older (Legislative Reference No.22-R-3574).
  • A resolution to request the Department of Human Resources provide a report listing the employees within Public Works, Watershed Management and Parks and Recreation who were eligible to receive premium pay funded by the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (Legislative Reference No.22-R-3578).
  • A resolution to celebrate the successful passage of House Bill 1013 during the Georgia General Assembly legislative session of 2022, to encourage the General Assembly to fully fund the measures called for in the bill during the 2023 legislative session, and to join the national movement to raise awareness about mental health by celebrating “Mental Health Awareness Month” in May 2022 (Legislative Reference No.22-R-3579).

The Council will present proclamations in honor of Morris Brown College and Dr. Kevin James and William M. March “DJ Willow Wow” and in recognition of National Public Works Week and the City of Atlanta Department of Transportation achieving American Public Works Association (APWA) re-accreditation.

The Council’s Committee Chairs briefing will be held in person Mondays during the week of full Council at 9:30 a.m. in the Council Chamber.

The Committee on Council will convene in Committee Room No. 1 at 11 a.m. ahead of Monday’s full Council meeting.

Following the mayor’s executive order and in observance of guidance from health and facilities professionals, several safety protocols are in place, including mandatory mask wearing in the chamber, the observing of room capacity limits, and increased cleaning protocols. 

About Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Doug Shipman; District 1: Jason Winston; District 2:Amir Farokhi; District 3: Byron Amos; District 4: Jason S. Dozier; District 5: Liliana Bakhtiari; District 6: Alex Wan; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: Mary Norwood; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Antonio Lewis; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Keisha Sean Waites.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About us

On Common Ground News is published daily by On Common Ground, Inc (OCGNEWS.COM). The newspaper serves DeKalb, Gwinnett, Rockdale and Metro Atlanta.

The opinions expressed by writers and contributors are not necessarily those of the publisher or the newspaper’s advertisers.

No portion of this newspaper may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the publisher.

We reserve the right to reject material and advertisements we deem inappropriate.

On Common Ground News
P.O. Box 904
Lithonia, GA 30058

(770) 679-5607

Latest News

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: On Common Ground News, 1240 Sigman Road, Conyers, GA, 30012, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact